Ursa Major – Ursa Major (1972) *Dick Wagner *Rick Derringer *Billy Joel

Ursa Major is one of my favorite obscure rock bands on this blog. THEY ROCK! This was one of Dick Wagner’s bands before he played with Alice Cooper, Lou Reed, and KISS. Rick Derringer was also in Ursa Major before releasing his hit “Rock ‘N’ Roll Hootchie Koo” in 1973. Billy Joel also did keyboards for Ursa Major before releasing “Piano Man” in 1973.

My favorite song from this album is “Sinner,” I like the way it builds up and leads up into the chorus. I also like the hard rock sound in “Stage Door Queen” and “Silverspoon.” This band also reminds me of Grand Funk Railroad, especially in songs like “Back To The Land” and “Lay Me Down.”

Overall, this band is very underrated. They were short lived, that’s why didn’t reach mainstream success.

Ursa Major – Ursa Major (1972)

Favorite Songs:

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started